Tbilisi’s Art Nouveau Gems

Tbilisi Calling

This lovely and evocative article about Tbilisi’s hidden art nouveau gems has been making the rounds here this week. I’ve been admiring Tbilisi’s art nouveau architecture (my favorite architectural era!) since we arrived, and I’m always delighted to find something new… The sheer volume of these buildings was a real surprise to me, particularly if you include those with only details of the architectural style; not all of them are art nouveau through-and-through. For example, I’d not really noticed the building below, in Tbilisi’s Avlabari district, until my family was here this month.

In the neighborhood the article’s author visits, however, there has been a lot of renovation work done in the last few years, and the entire stretch of Aghmashenebeli Avenue looks amazing now. Or, at least, the outsides of the buildings do. Trey and I went last winter and I snapped a few photos of buildings I found…

View original post 218 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

